The concept is simple:

Each month we will be creating a new t-shirt
and a corresponding letterpress print.

All proceeds will benefit the Daniel E. Johnson Memorial Scholarship fund at saa.


Each month a new T-shirt and corresponding letterpress printinspired by all things typographicwill be created and released for presale. Letterpress prints will be available for $10, shirts for $20, or you can order both for $25. But here’s the catch: you have to act fast. Each individual print will only be available for three weeks. After those three weeks they’re gone and a new design is posted. No reprints and no second editions.

All proceeds will benefit the Daniel E. Johnson Memorial Scholarship Fund at SAA. That’s what this project is really all about: giving future students the opportunity to cultivate their talents at SAA and to understand the importance of giving back to others.

It’s awesome to inspire and be inspired, and because providing financial help to future generations of amazing designers is the right thing to do.

→ Interested in Donating?

We've come together to print it forward
because giving back is the right thing to do.

continue arrow

Dan Johnson (1935-2009)

Dan Johnson was an instructor at the School of Advertising Art in Kettering, Ohio, and president of a leading design studio, Art Direction, for more than 17 years. He was the recipient of an international CLIO and fifteen Hermes awards from AAF - Dayton and was awarded the American Advertising Federation Silver Medal for lifetime achievement.

Dan was also a friend and mentor. Students who had the honor of having Dan as an instructor loved him, as did those who had the opportunity to work with him. The School of Advertising Art and the family of Dan Johnson created the Daniel E. Johnson Memorial Scholarship. This tuition award is presented to an incoming first-year student who reflects excellence in both design and general academics. Our hope is to be able to make a sizable contribution to this year’s fund with the proceeds from the sale of Print It Forward shirts and prints.

Past Scholarship Recipients

2011 Dan Johnson winner

Danielle Thompson (2011)

2012 Dan Johnson winner

Helen Owens (2012)

2013 Dan Johnson winner

Alyson Hood (2013)

2013 Dan Johnson winner

Lauren Landes (2014)

for your support in both art and education.